We're always on the lookout for local news relevant to the communities of Highland Perthshire.
Have you got a news story you think we should know about?

Deadline for Community Council Nominations is This Thursday

The nomination window for anyone wishing to serve as a Community Councillor, on their local Community Councils in Perth and Kinross, closes at 4pm this Thursday the 22nd of September, ahead of the elections in November.  

Anyone wishing to stand for an election to the Community Council must be over 16 years of age, reside in the Community council area and be named on the electoral registry for that area.  A candidate’s proposer and seconder must also reside in that same area.

A formal election will only be held if there are more nominations that available positions on the community council. Most Community Councils have a minimum number of members and a maximum.

In Highland Perthshire the community councils are:

In the Highland Ward:

  • Killiecrankie, Fincastle and Tummelminimum of four and a maximum of seven
  • Blair Atholl and Struanminimum of three and a maximum of six
  • Rannochminimum of four and a maximum of eight
  • Aberfeldyminimum of five and a maximum of 10
  • Dull and Weemminimum of three and a maximum of six
  • Glen Lyon and Loch Tayminimum of three and a maximum of six
  • Kenmore and Districtminimum of four and a maximum of eight
  • Mid Atholl, Strathtay and Grandtullyminimum of four and maximum of seven
  • Pitlochry and Moulinminimum of five and a maximum of nine

In the Strathtay Ward:

  • Dunkeld and Birnamminimum of five and a maximum of 10

Contact information and the area covered by each community council can be found at https://www.pkc.gov.uk/communitycouncilcontacts

Community Councils are a voluntary organisation who have a role in law and represent the views of the local community on issues including planning applications, acting as a conduit for communication between the community, elected officials in the council and other organisations. 

Community Councillors have a shared responsibility for the success of the community council, even if you don’t serve in one of the office roles. Officer roles carry the most responsibility and these include the Chair, Treasurer and Secretary, with some councillors having other roles which carry various responsibilities.

The nomination form and all required documents should be returned to the Returning Officer (Community Councils), Perth and Kinross Council, Council Building, 2 High Street, Perth, PH1 5PH or by email to communitycouncils@pkc.gov.uk not later than 4pm on Thursday 22th of September 2022.

To find out more information about Community Councils in Perth and Kinross visits https://www.pkc.gov.uk/communitycouncils and to find the nomination sheet for the election and more information on them visit https://www.pkc.gov.uk/communitycouncilselections

Scroll to Top