We're always on the lookout for local news relevant to the communities of Highland Perthshire.
Have you got a news story you think we should know about?

Highland Ward Local Election Results

From left to right: Mary McDougall (Scottish Green Party); John Duff and Rhona Metcalfe; (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party); Xander McDade (Independent); Sally Murray and Mike Williamson (Scottish National Party) await the announcement.

The results have been declared for the Highland Ward and the three councillors who will serve on Perth and Kinross Council are John Duff (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party), Xander McDade (Independent) and Mike Williamson (Scottish National Party).

Of the 7,674 voters registered in the ward a total of 4,512 voted giving a turnout of 58.8%, with the candidates needing 1,114 votes to be elected. John Duff received 1,110 first preference votes and was elected at stage two. Xander McDade received 977 first preference votes and was elected at stage five, while Mike Williamson received 856 first preference votes and was elected at stage eight.

The results mean that there is no change in the Highland Ward Councillors.

The reactions from the elected councillors are available below.

Here is what Conservative Councillor John Duff had to say following his re-election:

Independent Councillor Xander McDade shares his reaction to be re-elected:

Scottish National Party Councillor Mike Williamson tells us what it means to be re-elected:

Scroll to Top