We're always on the lookout for local news relevant to the communities of Highland Perthshire.
Have you got a news story you think we should know about?

Schools in Highland Perthshire to Close Next Week as Strike Action Continues

Children more unhappy with lives, schooling and appearance – research

Further school closures will take place next week as part of targeted action called by teaching unions as part of the national dispute over pay, with schools in Highland Perthshire widely affected.

A new offer was put forward to the EIS yesterday by the Scottish Government and COSLA, with the offer unanimously rejected by the EIS Salaries Committee in a special meeting, meaning the strike action will continue as planned.

The latest round of strikes is targeting the constituencies of the First Minister, Deputy First Minister, Cabinet Secretary of Education and COSLA Resources Spokesperson Cllr Katie Hagmann.

To allow parents and carers to plan ahead, Perth & Kinross Council has confirmed which schools will be closed on the 22nd, 23rd and 24th of February 2023 as a result of the targeted action. All schools not included on this list are expected to remain open.

Primary Schools

  • Abernyte Primary
  • Alyth Primary School
  • Auchtergaven Primary School
  • Balbeggie Primary School
  • Balhousie Primary
  • Blair Atholl Primary School
  • Burrelton Primary School
  • Collace Primary School
  • Coupar Angus Primary
  • Errol Primary School
  • Grandtully Primary School
  • Guildtown Primary School
  • Inchture Primary School 
  • Invergowrie Primary School
  • Kenmore Primary School               
  • Kettins Primary School   
  • Kinnoull Primary School 
  • Kirkmichael Primary
  • Logierait Primary School
  • Longforgan Primary School
  • Luncarty Primary School
  • Meigle and Kettins Primary Schools
  • Murthly Primary
  • Newhill Primary
  • North Muirton Primary
  • Rattray Primary
  • Robert Douglas Memorial Primary
  • Royal School of Dunkeld
  • St Madoes Primary School
  • St Stephen’s RC Primary
  • Stanley Primary School

All Through Schools

  • Breadalbane Primary
  • Breadalbane Secondary
  • Pitlochry High School
  • St John’s RC Academy Primary
  • St John’s RC Academy Secondary

Secondary Schools

  • Bertha Park High School
  • Blairgowrie High School
  • Perth Grammar

Special Schools 

  • Almondbank House
  • Re-integration Project


  • HQ
  • Early Years Base (Perth Grammar School)

Updated letters with information will be sent out to parents/carers via the schools when they reopen on Monday after the February break.

Further national strike action is planned for Tuesday 28th of February and Wednesday 1st of March, more targeted strikes action is planned on the 7th, 8th and 9th of March, with rolling national strikes planned from the 13th of March until the 21st of April.

Scroll to Top