We're always on the lookout for local news relevant to the communities of Highland Perthshire.
Have you got a news story you think we should know about?

Pete Wishart Celebrates 20 Years Representing Perth & North Perthshire

Pete Wishart in the run up to the 2001 General Election when he was first elected.

MP for Perth & North Perthshire, Pete Wishart, this week celebrates 20 years since he was elected as a Member of Parliament.

Mr Wishart was first elected at the 2001 General Election on 7th June 2001 for the North Tayside seat. Following the abolishment of the seat, he then became MP for Perth & North Perthshire at the 2005 General Election.

Mr Wishart has held elected office since 2001.

Pete Wishart MP said:

“It has been an immense privilege to have been elected an MP for 20 years now. Back in 2001 I never thought I would still be serving the people of Perthshire after all this time.

“When I was elected in 2001 it was at the time of the second New Labour landslide and our politics has changed immeasurably in that time. I certainly don’t think I could have predicted we would have left the EU and that Boris Johnson would be Prime Minister.

“Back in 2001, with 5 SNP MPs it was hard to think that at one stage we would be electing over 50 MPs to Westminster and would be well on our way to holding a second independence referendum.

“As an SNP MP, I am in the strange position of continuing to do everything possible to achieve independence, which will ironically put me out of a job! Nevertheless, for as long as I am lucky enough to still be returned by the people of Perth and North Perthshire, I will continue to stand up for them and fight their corner.”

Mr Wishart successful re-election at the 2019 General Election saw Mr Wishart retain his seat with 27,362 votes representing 50.6%, a 7,550 majority ahead of Angus Forbes of the Conservative party.

He currently serves as the SNP Shadow Leader of the House of Commons and is one of only 3 people to be elected as the MP for North Tayside and the only MP to have represented the seat of Perth & North Perthshire.

Mr Wishart was also the first SNP MP to ever be elected as the chair of a House of Commons Select Committee in 2015 for the Chair of the Scottish Affairs Committee, a role he performs to this day.

As well as serving as an MP, Mr Wishart is a musician. For 15 years, he was a member of Runrig and Big Country and founded rock band MP4 which consists of 3 current and one former member of parliament from across three parties.

MP4 comprises of Pete Wishart (Scottish National Party), Ian Cawsey (former Labour MP), Sir Greg Knight (Conservative), and Kevin Brennan (Labour).

The groups discography includes albums such as ‘House Music EP’ and ‘Cross Party’.

Contributions to the Hansard by Pete Wishart MP can be found here.

Scroll to Top